Of Books and Gardens

     In honour of the Chelsea Flower Show, which is taking place this week (and oh, how I wish I were there!), Cornflower has launched a new garden-themed meme. All you have to do is complete the sentences with the titles of books you’ve read this year…

April sun shining on the pond garden at home.

_____

     Early this morning as I was Dancing for Degas, I stepped out of The Castle on the Hill into the garden and bent down to touch The Hermaphrodite.

As dawn broke and I took in my surroundings, I noticed several things: A Sea-Grape Tree was struggling due to Cocaine Blues, The Food of Love had been dug up in The Camomile Lawn under The Golden Bough, but with help from Madame Pamplemousse and her Incredible Edibles and knowledge gleaned from The Four Seasons, I was able to bury it with Songs of Blue and Gold.

     Later, The Real Katie Lavender popped in to take a cutting or two; she told me The Story of a Marriage, but she pointed out that it was a Summer of Love.

     Taking a well-earned rest from the weeding and chatting over the wall with The Uncommon Reader from next door, I mentioned The Peach Keeper and remarked on Anecdotes of Destiny, but then after The Matisse Stories, we said A Little Love Song and I went back to do a little light pruning.

     My garden was once The Lost Garden but tending it is a joy and part of the History of a Pleasure Seeker.

 

© Florence Berlioz 2012

About Miss Darcy's Library

I love books - buying books, reading books, discussing books, and generally admiring them from all angles (except the e-book). I also love tea, roses, and my dogs, and seldom pass up an opportunity to slip them into the conversation.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Of Books and Gardens

  1. Wasn’t this fun? And what a lovely picture of your pond garden at home!

  2. m says:

    Very clever. Yours worked much better than mine did. And what a lovely garden.

Leave a Reply

