Literary Notecards

It has been many moons since I last posted anything here. It’s not so much that I don’t want to, as that I don’t seem able to, somehow. Which doesn’t mean that I haven’t been reading. I have a pile of books to review! But whenever I consider sitting down to work on one, I feel a treacherous apathy creep over me, which has been affecting all my writing. I have gradually taken up composing letters and journal entries again, and I have managed to write a few more pages of my novel, but I haven’t got around to blog posts yet.

The workshop in session...

The workshop in session…

In the meantime, I have been dabbling in arts and crafts. Back in June, I bought some lovely new stationery, including a set of mint green-coloured blank notecards and matching envelopes. I had a lot of fun customising these with stickers, rubber stamps, decorative hole-punchers, and a selection of bookish quotes, ranging from Shakespeare to Walt Whitman, to Elizabeth von Arnim.

The Japanese rice paper in all its glory.

The Japanese rice paper in all its glory.

In fact, I enjoyed myself so much that I have decided to renew the experience every season. This September I chose lavender-blue notecards with magenta envelopes. The quotes I finally settled upon this time were by Sylvia Plath, Daphne du Maurier, or Maurice Sendak. A timely birthday present from my sister-in-law allowed me to play around with Japanese rice paper in pretty patterns.

The best part – but also the greatest challenge – is finding suitable quotes. I’m a bit tired of coming across yet another “It is a truth universally acknowledged” card in the bookshops; however much I love Pride and Prejudice, it strikes me that the immense choice of literary works out there should allow for a little variety.

Fun with frogs.

Fun with frogs.

So here’s a little game I’d like to play with you, if you’re willing: post your favourite quote in the comment box below and, when I do my next batch of cards in December/January, I’ll use a few and post pictures of the results on this blog.

Oh, and there’s a also a quick survey I concocted, just for fun!

“And now”, cried Max, “let the wild rumpus start!”

© Florence Berlioz 2014

About Miss Darcy's Library

I love books - buying books, reading books, discussing books, and generally admiring them from all angles (except the e-book). I also love tea, roses, and my dogs, and seldom pass up an opportunity to slip them into the conversation.
This entry was posted in Quills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Literary Notecards

  1. Looks like a lovely idea. Have you read Janice MacLeod’s book Paris Letters? Well as a result of this she sends an illustrated postcard through the post, it’s a lovely surprise at the start of the month.

    • Hello Jo! No, I haven’t read MacLeod’s Paris Letters, but the book sounds fun! the idea cannot fail to appeal, considering I’m a fan of pretty stationery and tend to think snail mail is the only mail worth receiving 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    My compliments: a nice idea. The first quote that occurs to me comes from the final complete Raymond Chandler novel: “Playback”.

    Adrienne Fromsett (to Philip Marlowe): “Listen mister, we’ve got guys who could grind you down so small, you’d need a stepladder to get into your shoes.”

    Marlowe to Fromsett: “Not bad, but someone worked long and hard on that one.”

Leave a Reply

