This is why I teach!

The school year is drawing to an end. And don’t the kids know it! They are positively pawing the ground in their impatience to be gone and it is futile trying to get them to work. Today I gave up and let them play games, as long as they spoke English, but yesterday I was still fighting the good fight, and when I saw a sheet of paper being passed openly from hand to hand, I decided enough was enough and confiscated it. There was a collective shout of protest: “NO! Madame, that was for you!!!”

They weren’t lying. When the bell rang for the end of class, I unfolded the paper and found the following letter (with twenty or so signatures on the back):

thank you letter 4°1

     It’s at times like these that you feel that the long hours, and the shouting, and the moments when you think you’re going to tear your hair out in frustration, are actually worth it after all…

 © Florence Berlioz 2013

About Miss Darcy's Library

I love books - buying books, reading books, discussing books, and generally admiring them from all angles (except the e-book). I also love tea, roses, and my dogs, and seldom pass up an opportunity to slip them into the conversation.
This entry was posted in Teaching and Academia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This is why I teach!

  1. limr says:

    So sweet! It’s amazing how all the incredible frustrations of teaching can simply melt away in one instant 🙂

    • Wasn’t that lovely? 🙂 I struggled all year to get them to concentrate and do some work, and there were times when I really lost my temper with them. But the little devils always know just how to win us over in spite of their faults!

  2. Tennyson says:

    One equal temper of heroic hearts,
    Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
    To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.

  3. How absolutely lovely! And extremely gratifying!

    I can’t see English children expressing those sentiments. Even in their own language.

Leave a Reply

