Spring Flowers

     The last thing I felt like doing today was going out to teach. Apart from the fact that my pupil is a spoilt, sullen fourteen-year-old boy who practises insolence far more than he ever does his English conjugations, the weather was wet and raw – April’s spiteful revenge on us for the lovely sunlit days we enjoyed in March. Inevitably, I have caught cold, and have been headachy and snivelly for the past two days. All I wanted was to stay in bed and read.

     On my way back home several hours later, I decided that, what the hell, I deserved a treat, so I stopped off at the fancy florist’s near my bus stop and splurged on a bunch of pink and white lisianthus. There’s nothing like buying flowers to put me in a good mood! I paid the exorbitant price without batting an eyelash and, dodging raindrops, I dashed across the street to catch my bus. Juggling three bags of groceries, my umbrella, and the flowers wasn’t easy but I managed to make it home without dropping anything…

     As I returned my little dog’s enthusiastic greeting (and demands for dinner!) and unpacked my purchases, a ray of evening sun struggled through the clouds and illumined my bouquet, sending me rushing for the camera:

 

     Despite the weather, it seems spring crept into my kitchen after all. My rose-patterned teacup is filled with Dammann’s “Thé Bulgare”, a delectable blend of China and Ceylon teas flavoured with raspberry, sanguinello orange, orange peel, and red rose petals. And near at hand is my book of the week, Helen Humphreys’ The Lost Garden: set in Devon in spring 1941, it features Land Girls, the Royal Horticultural Society, roses, and Virginia Woolf – a combination guaranteed to attract my attention, even without the lovely dust-jacket!

© Florence Berlioz 2012

About Miss Darcy's Library

I love books - buying books, reading books, discussing books, and generally admiring them from all angles (except the e-book). I also love tea, roses, and my dogs, and seldom pass up an opportunity to slip them into the conversation.
This entry was posted in Around the Tea-Table and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring Flowers

  1. How lovely, Florence! Nothing brightens up a wet day like some fresh flowers and a good book and your tea sounds absolutely delicious. I love Helen Humphreys and The Lost Garden is excellent. Enjoy!

  2. Anbolyn says:

    I really can’t think of a better way to cheer yourself up! Those flowers are beautiful and I LOVE The Lost Garden – a wonderful book. You’re sure to feel better soon!

    • Thank you, Anbolyn, I’m going to snuggle into bed as soon as I’ve taken my dog out for a last walk (unfortunately, it’s still raining). The Lost Garden is indeed wonderful – I’m enjoying every sentence!

  3. That book sounds fantastic! Thanks for the recommendation. Reading it with a cup of tea sounds like a perfect way to spend an evening.

  4. litlove says:

    The flowers are truly gorgeous! And I do so agree that treats are absolutely necessary after difficult students! Hope your cold is better soon – we have all been down with one again in this treacherous weather.

    • Thank you, Victoria! Luckily, I can stay at home today, which is just as well, for the weather is truly horrible. April in Paris is supposed to be about swallows and blossoming chestnut trees, NOT about November winds and temperatures! I am not amused.

Leave a Reply

