One Book, Two Books, Three Books, Four…

     This meme has been going around the blogosphere for the past few weeks and I think it’s a fun way of bringing several books to one’s readers’ attention at once. Rather like browsing in a bookshop, if one doesn’t like the look of one book, then it’s on to the next, with no qualms about having skipped a lengthy review! So I’ve decided to add a spoke of my own to the great wide wheel, in the hope that something you’d never heard of before might catch your eye…

1. The book I am currently reading:

Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart (1955). Technically, I haven’t started it yet, but I’m home alone tonight, so you can fully expect me to knuckle down! This beautiful edition by Hodder and Stoughton is available at the Book Depository.

 

 

2. The last book I finished:

The Peacock Spring, by Rumer Godden (1975). I will be posting a review this weekend, which I hope will convey to you how much I loved this book and send you all rushing out to buy your own copies!

 

 

3. The next book I want to read:

Goodbye to Berlin, by Christopher Isherwood (1939). A friend and I are going to read this book together and compare notes. Anyone who is interested is welcome to join us!

 

 

4. The last book I bought:

The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery (2006). I will be reading this book in the original French, of course, but because it has been translated into English, I feel no compunction in including it on this blog.

 

5. The last book I was given:

Charleston, A Bloomsbury House and Garden, by Quention Bell and Virginia Nicholson (1997). This was an early birthday gift from my mother, who was in Paris visiting me last week and who loves spoiling me! I am fascinated by the Bloomsbury Group, and was thrilled to come across this book at W. H. Smith’s on the rue de Rivoli…

What about you? What books have you just read / bought / received?

About Miss Darcy's Library

I love books - buying books, reading books, discussing books, and generally admiring them from all angles (except the e-book). I also love tea, roses, and my dogs, and seldom pass up an opportunity to slip them into the conversation.
This entry was posted in Buying Books Galore and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Book, Two Books, Three Books, Four…

  1. FleurFisher says:

    What a lovely selection of books. I have picked up some of the Mary Stewart reissues but I have yet to begin reading. And I have a copy of The Peacock Spring, and I am quite sure that you will inspire me to pick it up …

  2. Thanks Fleur! I enjoyed the Mary Stewart so much that I can’t wait to order another! I have a hunch I’m going to get addicted very quickly 🙂 As for The Peacock Spring, I’m a bit late writing up my review, as you can see, but I’ll definitely post it this week…

  3. limr says:

    I’ve still got quite a way to go in War and Peace and I’m a little torn about whether or not I should read other books at the same time. I generally don’t like doing that, and I’m also afraid that taking my attention away from Tolstoy will make it even harder to remember characters and events.

    Having said that, I was about halfway through That Old Ace in the Hole by Annie Proulx and really enjoying it. I didn’t manage to finish it before my vacation and I didn’t want to bring two big books with me, so I just brought Tolstoy. I have a feeling I’m going to use it as a relief when I need to take a break from The Tome 😉

    The book I just bought was Best Little Stories from the Wild West by C.Brian Kelly with Ingrid Smyer. I seem to be counteracting all the recent Russian literature with some solid Americana! 😉 (Proulx’s novel focuses on life in the Texas panhandle). Got to have balance!

  4. Absolutely! Especially when it comes to the Russians – they certainly don’t believe in light entertainment, do they?!
    I’m actually doing the same thing at the moment: I started What Maisie Knew about ten days ago, read a third of it, and then got so bored I simply had to read something more exciting… and let’s say that four or five books later, I still haven’t mustered the courage to go back to Henry James 😦 I will – like you, I don’t like leaving a book in limbo, and I am determined to vanquish Miss Maisie – but I need some Dutch courage first…

Leave a Reply

